Contact to us

History of the Strafford County Sheriff’s Office

Strafford County Justice Administration Building and Sheriff’s Office

Strafford County is a county in the State of New Hampshire. As of the 2020 census, the population was 130,889.[1] Its county seat is Dover.[2] Strafford County was one of the five original counties identified for New Hampshire in 1769. It was named after William Wentworth, 2nd Earl of Strafford in the mistaken belief that he was the ancestor of Governor John Wentworth – although they were distantly related, William had no descendants. The county was organized at Dover in 1771. In 1840, the size of the original county was reduced with the creation of Belknap County. It is estimated to be New Hampshire’s county with the highest percentage growth over the 2010-2019 period

Coordinates: 43°15′30″N 70°58′34″W
Country United States
State New Hampshire
Named forWilliam Wentworth, 2nd Earl of Strafford
Largest cityDover
 • Total382.6 sq mi (991 km2)
 • Land367.6 sq mi (952 km2)
 • Water15.0 sq mi (39 km2)  3.9%
Population  (2020)
 • Total130,889
 • Density356.1/sq mi (137.5/km2)
Time zoneUTC−5 (Eastern)
 • Summer (DST)UTC−4 (EDT)
Congressional district1st

1773-1800    Theophilus Dame                 Dover

1800-1810       James Carr                            Somersworth

1810-1820     Daniel Barker                       Rochester

1820-1830     William Badger                    Gilmanton 

1830-1835     Jhon Chadwick                     Dover

1835-1840     Benjamin Wentwoth Jen   Strafford

1840-1845     Ezekiel Hurd                          Dover

1845-1850     Gorham W. Hoitt                  Lee

1850-1855     George McDaniel                 Barrington

1855-1856     George W. Brashridge         Barrington

1856-1866     Nathaniel Wiggin                 Dover

1866-1871     Luther Hayes                         Milton

1871-1875     Joeph Jones

1875-1876     John W. Iwell                         Strafford

1876-1879     Stephen S. Chick

1879-1887     John Greefield

1887-1889     John G. Johnson

1889-1891     John H. Pingree                     Rochester

1891-1892     William S Hayes                     Madbury

1892-1891     Bard B. Plummer                   Milton

1894-1900     James E. Hayes

1900-1906     George W. Parker

1906-1912     Frank I. Smith                       Rochester

1912-1918     Edward S. Young                  Dover

1918-1823     Fred E. Goodwin                  Dover

1923-1925     Stephen W. Scruton            Dover

1925-1930     William S. Davis                   Barrington

1930-1932     Andrew H. McDaniel           Dover

1932               Willis L. Reynolds                 Milton

1932-1933     Andrew H. McDaniel           Dover

1933-1939     Stephen W. Scruton             Dover 

1939-1941     Clyde R. Cotton                    

1941-1942     Stephen W. Scruton             Dover


1947-1950     Stephen W. Scruton             Dover

1950-1968     Wilfred J. Pare

1968-1968     William “Nick” Shaheen

1969-1977     Harold Knight                        Durham

1977-1978     Edmund Flanagan                Dover

1978-1979     William “Nick” Shaheen      

1979-1983     Frank Redden                        Dover

1983-1997     Richard T. Cavanaugh          Rochester

1997-2003     Martin R. Heon, Jr.               Middleton

2003-2013     Wayne M. Estes                    Milton

2013-2020     David G. Dubois                    Rochester

2020- Present Mark A. Brave                     Dover